European countries ban flights from UK as government warns potent new strain of virus is “out of control”.


UPDATED: New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo (D) said yesterday that flights from the U.K. should be banned in response to the emergence of a more infectious coronavirus strain in London and southern England.

40 other countries joined the ban including: Canada, India, Argentina, Poland, Portugal, the Czech Republic, Chile, Colombia, Hong Kong, Romania, Russia, Switzerland, 

The new strain of Covid-19, which prompted the UK government to impose a Tier 4 lockdown in London and southeastern England and tighten restrictions for all of England over the festive period, is “out of control,” Health Secretary Matt Hancock said today. The Netherlands, Italy, Austria and Belgium have announced a ban on flights to the UK.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson told millions of Britons they would have to cancel their Christmas plans and stay home because a new strain of the coronavirus is spreading far more quickly than the previous strain, being 70% more transmissible.